Thursday, July 31, 2008


Bryan's Story
My name is Bryan. I was 23 and had met and come to know and like a 15 year old young lady that was introduced to me by her mother.. We talked on the phone a lot and she came to my apartment on several occasions to watch movies. We liked each other and discussed dating. I was reluctant at first, but then it came full circle. She was very persistent and aggressive. We eventually had sex in my apartment.
I didn’t really think anything of what we had done because I was infatuated with this girl, and vice versa. I was surprised when confronted by her mom because she was aware of every time that we were together. Also, her mom knew everything about me, such as my age, job, etc.
Well, long story short, I was interviewed by a detective very shortly after the confrontation. I was raised to tell the truth, so that's what I did. I totally admitted to having sex with her...again not thinking I could seriously get in trouble for having consensual sex with a girl that I was in a relationship with. I felt that if a bad choice had been made, we had BOTH made that choice.
Boy was I wrong. After the detective took my statement, everything started rolling downhill. I was charged with Sexual Assault of a Child. I took a plea bargain of 6 months in jail, 10 years deferred probation, and a lifetime registration as a sex offender. I am required to attend a sex offender class every week. Also, yearly, I must take a polygraph, update my driver’s licence and register my sex offender status.
All of this has come upon me from admitting to having CONSENSUAL sex with a girl that, the law says, is not capable of making that decision on her own. How is that?
I have already completed the 6 month jail term. I am currently attending my classes, and going to my probation meetings. All the while, I am paying for EVERYTHING and working to complete the 240 hours of community service that was an additional part of my punishment. I am scared to change jobs or move to another apartment, or house, because of my sex offender label. I cannot enjoy activities like shooting pool at the local pool hall, or playing poker while drinking a beer because the probation conditions for"sex offenders" are very strict. These are the things I very much enjoy doing, but am not willing to chance a prison term for probation violations.
I’m concerned about the upcoming baby of mine that is due in August because at this time, I will not able to spend the night in the same house as my son or any minor under the age of 18. I’m worried about how this will affect my son. How will he be able to deal with the mistake I made at a young age?
This is my story. I am handling this as best I can. I don’t know what else I can do. I take it on a day by day basis and nothing more. I hope this story reaches someone and helps prevent them from making the mistakes I have made.
Thank you